State Of The Slate: Brief Hiatus

Ave lectors,

I started this project with a kind of “who cares if I no one wants to read it” rogue artist mindset, but it’s always surprising, inspiring, incredible to realize that there are in fact people who do want to read it. Hello. Welcome. Make yourself at home.

We have wrapped the THIRD book in this series–which, at the pace at which I write, means that it has been about three years since Blank Slate started. That time has FLOWN. We are now nearing the planned halfway point, and the next book is starting quicker than usual!

There will be a quick hiatus for the next two weeks: That means no update on the 3rd or 10th of February. Here are a few other quick updates:

I’ve updated the table of contents! This should present a slightly less confusing view, and also everything SHOULD be working now. This update includes making the Book titles and chapter titles match the numbering system. Should be a little easier to figure out where in the table of contents you are now. If you encounter a broken link, let me know in a comment somewhere and I’ll hop over and fix it.

I’ll be updating the table of contents AS we go forward this time, instead of my previous practice of letting 5 or 6 chapters build up and then thinking, “well, i’ll update when i finish the book” and then writing another book for a year and a half.

THIS COMING BOOK will be something of a (ha) fresh start; the hiatus is not only for time to write but also for a momentum break from the last book, resetting and resting. If for some reason you hate the idea of a web serial that’s got a backlog and you want to pick up somewhere and read weekly (or if you just want to skip straight into Mariead’s POV and skip Dermot’s somewhat acerbic tone), this next book will be a great place to start. Tell your friends.

I’ve deleted both my Twitter AND my Redbubble from the (renamed) “Connect and Support!” page. Twitter is dead (RIP) and I have made a grand total of $3 from my Redbubble, so frankly it’s not worth the hassle to run. I might look for some other way of making merch down the line if there is enough interest, so if you want some kind of Merch, agitate at me in an email or a comment. In the meantime, if you just want to throw $3 at me for no reason, my Ko-Fi is still inexplicably functional at https://ko-fi.com/jungwildeandfree. I probably am going to update THAT later in the year too, to match my new alias, Ace of Words.

I’ll drop another HOT ANNOUNCEMENT POST if I have anything else to say, but for now that is all that’s fit to print over here at Fire And Slate. Expect more lore, drama, swordplay, and of course, hot fire demon action back at this station starting every Sunday from the 17th! And as always, thank you very much for reading!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.